Best online CLE – Wyoming CLE Requirements

Best Online CLE – WYOMING CLE REQUIREMENTS – EXPERIENCED ATTORNEYS 

Who is considered an Experienced Attorney in Wyoming? 

Experienced attorneys are attorneys admitted to the Wyoming bar for more than one year.  

 

What are the WY CLE Requirements for Experienced Attorneys? 

Experienced Wyoming attorneys must complete a minimum of 15 CLE credits, including at least two credits of legal ethics, each calendar year.  

 

How can Experienced Attorneys in WY fulfill their CLE Requirements? 

Experienced Attorneys can fulfill their WY CLE Requirements by attending CLE classes that have been approved and accredited by the CLE Director.  Some accepted course formats are: 

Self Study (Maximum 6 credits per year) 

Live 

Are there other ways Attorneys in WY can earn CLE credit? 

Yes! attorneys can receive credit for: 

  • Legal Writing. Attorneys in Wyoming may receive up to 15 CLE credits per calendar year for writing articles that are published in a legal periodical, such as law reviews, legal newsletters, pamphlets, magazines, newspapers, etc. 
  • Providing pro bono legal services. An attorney may receive a maximum of five hours of legal education credit each calendar year for providing pro bono public service as defined in Rule 6.1 of the Wyoming Rules of Professional Conduct.  

 

What is the deadline for Experienced Attorneys in WY to complete their CLE credits? 

Experienced attorneys must complete their CLE requirements on or before December 31 each year.  

 

Can Experienced Attorneys in WY carry over CLE credits from one cycle to another? 

Yes! Wyoming attorneys can carry forward any excess Live credits they have earned for two years. This includes legal ethics credits.  

 

How many credits can Wyoming attorneys earn on CLE Companion? 

Attorneys can complete 6 of their 15 credits on CLE Companion via On-Demand Self Study Courses. Our Wyoming course catalog can be foundhere.  You may take additional courses on CLE Companion and self accredit them by following this link:  

Wyoming Self Application Form 

 

How can WY attorneys self-apply for course approval? 

Attorneys can self apply for course accreditation by filling out the form below: 

Wyoming Self Application Form 

WYOMING CLE REQUIREMENTS – NEWLY ADMITTED ATTORNEYS 

Who is considered a WY Newly Admitted Attorney? 

Newly admitted attorneys in Wyoming, either by Examination or by Uniform Bar Examination score transfer, are those who are still within the first 12 months after their date of admission to the WY Bar.  

 

What are the WY CLE Requirements for Newly Admitted Attorneys? 

As part of the 15-credit CLE requirement for all attorneys in WY, each New Admittee must complete a six-hour continuing legal education course entitled ‘‘Pathways to Professional Practice.’’ The Pathways course is an in-person seminar provided by the Wyoming State Bar at least twice each year.  

 

How can WY Newly Admitted Attorneys complete their CLE requirements? 

Newly Admitted Attorneys in WY can complete their CLE requirement by completing the “Pathways to Professional Practice” program provided by the Wyoming State Bar, as well as an additional 9 hours of approved CLE programming. CLE courses must be approved and accredited by the CLE Director, and may include courses in the following formats: 

Self Study (Maximum 6 credits per year) 

Live 

 

What is the deadline for WY Newly Admitted attorneys to complete their CLE credits? 

The “Pathways to Professional Practice” course must be completed within 12 months of being admitted to practice in Wyoming. The 15 total CLE credits must be completed by the end of each calendar year.  

 

Can Newly Admitted Attorneys in WY carry over CLE credits from one cycle to another? 

Yes! Live hours completed in any year in excess of the minimum number, including legal ethics credits, may be carried forward for two years.  

 

Are there any other ways that Newly Admitted Attorneys in WY can receive CLE credit? 

Yes! attorneys can receive credit for: 

  • Speaking or teaching an accredited CLE program. Attorneys can receive 3 CLE credits for each hour spent lecturing in a CLE program. 
  • Legal Writing. Attorneys in Wyoming may receive up to 15 CLE credits per calendar year for writing articles that are published in a legal periodical, such as law reviews, legal newsletters, pamphlets, magazines, newspapers, etc. 
  • Providing pro bono legal services. An attorney may receive a maximum of five hours of legal education credit each calendar year for providing pro bono public service as defined in Rule 6.1 of the Wyoming Rules of Professional Conduct.  
  • WYOMING CLE REQUIREMENTS – COMPLIANCE & REPORTING 

How do WY attorneys certify compliance? 

For each program attended, attorneys must apply for credit by accessing the Member Login page on the Bar’s website at www.wyomingbar.org.Credits may be submitted through the online submission form or on the printable Application for CLE Credit. 

On November 15 each year, the Wyoming State Bar will notify each attorney of the number of CLE credits they have on their record for that calendar year so that attorneys still have ample time to complete any remaining CLE credits necessary for their requirement. 

 

What is the deadline for WY attorneys to certify compliance? 

Wyoming attorneys must report their CLE credits by January 15th. 

ADDITIONAL CLE RESOURCES FOR WYOMING ATTORNEYS 

State Contact Info 

Wyoming State Bar Association  
4124 Laramie Street  
Cheyenne, WY 82001  
307-632-9061 
https://www.wyomingbar.org/cle/ 

Wyoming CLE FAQ Page 

Wyoming CLE FAQ Page 

WY CLE Rules 

Rules of the Wyoming State Board of Continuing Legal Education 

WY State Law Library 

https://www.courts.state.wy.us/state-law-library/