Best online CLE – West Virginia CLE Requirements

Best Online CLE – WEST VIRGINIA CLE REQUIREMENTS – EXPERIENCED ATTORNEYS 

Who is considered an Experienced Attorney in West Virginia? 

Experienced Attorneys in West Virginia are those who have been admitted for more than 12 months and have already completed the Bridge the Gap requirement for New Admittees.  

 

What are the WV CLE Requirements for Experienced Attorneys? 

Experienced West Virginia Attorneys must complete 24 CLE credit hours (including at least 3 in legal ethics, office management, substance abuse, and/or elimination of bias) every two years.  

 

How can Experienced Attorneys in WV fulfill their CLE Requirements? 

Attorneys can fulfill their WV CLE Requirements by attending CLE classes that have been approved by the CLE Commission, or classes offered by sponsors who are presumptively approved to offer CLE courses in West Virginia. 

CLE course formats that are limited to no more than half (12 credits) of the total CLE requirement: 

  • In-house instruction 

Live, in-person courses have no limit to the number of credits that can be earned towards the CLE requirement. 

 

How many credits can WV attorneys complete on CLE Companion? 

Attorneys can complete up to 12 credits on CLE Companion through On Demand, and Live Streamed courses. Webcasts do not count as Live credit in West Virginia and are subject to the 12-credit maximum per compliance period. Our West Virginia courses can be foundhere. 

 

Are there other ways Experienced Attorneys in WV can earn CLE credit? 

Yes! Experienced Attorneys can receive credit for: 

  • Published legal research-based writing. Attorneys in West Virginia may receive CLE credit for the following legal research/writing activities: 
  • Publishing an article in the law review of an ABA-accredited law school 
  • Publishing an article in the official publication of the state bar 
  • Authoring or co-authoring a book 
  • Publishing a paper in a legal society’s annual, hardbound collection 
  • Publishing an article in a bar journal in another state 
  • Editing or authoring periodic newsletters designed to serve the interests of specialists 

 

What is the WV CLE Compliance Period for Experienced Attorneys? 

The compliance period for West Virginia Experienced Attorneys begins on July 1st of even years and ends two years later on June 30th. For example, the current reporting period began on July 1st, 2018 and will end on June 30th, 2020.  

 

Can Experienced Attorneys in WV carry over CLE credits from one cycle to another? 

Yes! If a WV attorney completes more than the required number of CLE credits, a maximum of 6 general credits (not ethics) will be automatically applied to the next reporting period.  

WEST VIRGINIA CLE REQUIREMENTS – NEWLY ADMITTED ATTORNEYS 

Who is considered a Newly Admitted Attorney in West Virginia? 

Newly Admitted Attorneys in West Virginia are those are still within their first 12 months after admission to the Bar.  

 

What are the WV CLE Requirements for Newly Admitted Attorneys? 

Newly Admitted Attorneys who were admitted on or after July 1st, 2018 must complete the Live In-Person Bridge the Gap Program within 24 months of their admission. This program is offered exclusively by the West Virginia State Bar and is available to be completed at the WV State Bar Annual Meeting and one other to be announced date/location every year. CLE credit is available for completion of this mandatory Program. 

In addition, Attorneys admitted within the first year of the two-year compliance period (ex: July 1st, 2018 to June 30th, 2019) are required to complete 12 credits of CLE courses including 3 in legal ethics, office management, substance abuse, and/or elimination of bias in the legal profession. 

Attorneys admitted in the second year of the two-year compliance period (ex. July 1st, 2019 to June 30th, 2020) are exempt from the 12 credits requirement during the reporting period they are admitted but must still complete the WV Bridge the Gap Program. 

 

How can Newly Admitted Attorneys in WV fulfill their CLE Requirements? 

Attorneys can fulfill the 12-credit portion of their initial WV CLE Requirement by attending CLE classes that have been approved by the CLE Commission, or classes offered by sponsors who are presumptively approved to offer CLE courses in West Virginia. 

CLE course formats that are limited to no more than half (6 credits) of the total CLE requirement: 

  • In-house instruction 

Live, in-person courses have no limit to the number of credits that can be earned towards the CLE requirement. 

The 6-credit Bridge the Gap program for Newly Admitted West Virginia Attorneys is offered exclusively by the WV State Bar. Please see here for more information.  

 

Are there other ways Newly Admitted Attorneys in WV can earn CLE credit? 

Yes! Newly Admitted Attorneys can receive credit for: 

  • Publishing an article in the official publication of the state bar 
  • Authoring or co-authoring a book 
  • Publishing a paper in a legal society’s annual, hardbound collection 
  • Publishing an article in a bar journal in another state 
  • Editing or authoring periodic newsletters designed to serve the interests of specialists 

 

What is the deadline for WV Newly Admitted Attorneys to complete their CLE credits? 

Newly Admitted Attorneys admitted between July 1st of an even year and June 30th of an odd year must complete their CLE requirements by June 30th of the following even year. For example, a WV attorney admitted in January 2017 must complete their CLE credits by June 30th, 2018. 

Newly Admitted Attorneys admitted after July 1st of an odd year are exempt from the current reporting period. For example, a WV attorney admitted in September 2017 is exempt from the 2016-2018 reporting cycle. 

All Newly Admitted Attorneys must complete the West Virginia Bridge the Gap Program within 24 months of their admission to the West Virginia State Bar.  

 

Can Newly Admitted Attorneys in WV carry over CLE credits from one cycle to another? 

Yes! If a WV attorney completes more than the required number of CLE credits, a maximum of 6 general credits (not ethics) will be automatically applied to the next reporting period.  

 

What if a Newly Admitted Attorney in WV is already admitted in another state? 

Attorneys who have been admitted to another US jurisdiction for 5 or more years or who have completed a mandatory 7 or more credit Newly Admitted Attorney training program offered by another State Bar, may request an exemption from the West Virginia Bridge the Gap Program. The exemption request must be submitted no later than 24 months after an attorney’s admission. 

WEST VIRGINIA CLE REQUIREMENTS – COMPLIANCE & REPORTING 

How do WV attorneys report attendance? 

Sponsors of approved programs in West Virginia are asked to supply attendance information to the MCLE Commission, but attorneys are encouraged to report themselves if they do not see their activities posted to their compliance record within two months of the activity date. Attorneys in West Virginia may self-report their CLE attendance information through the member portal at www.mywvbar.org. 

CLE Companion reports each month’s credits at the beginning of the following month. Please ensure that your bar number is filled out in your profile. 

 

What is the deadline for WV attorneys to report their attendance? 

West Virginia attorneys must report their CLE credits by July 31st of even years following their compliance deadline. 

ADDITIONAL CLE RESOURCES FOR WEST VIRGINIA ATTORNEYS 

State Contact Info 

WV MCLE Commission  
2000 Deitrick Blvd  
Charleston, WV 25311-1231  
304-553-7220  
greshamh@wvbar.org  
http://www.wvbar.org 

West Virginia’s MCLE Rules and Regulations 

http://www.wvbar.org/members/mcle/rules-regulations/ 

West Virginia State Bar Young Lawyers Section 

All members of the West Virginia State Bar who have been admitted for less than 10 years are automatically members of the Young Lawyers Section. http://www.wvyounglawyers.com/