Best Online CLE – Arizona CLE Requirements

Best Online CLE – ARIZONA CLE REQUIREMENTS – EXPERIENCED ATTORNEYS

What are the AZ MCLE Requirements for Experienced Attorneys? 

Experienced Arizona Attorneys must complete 15 CLE credit hours, including at least 3 in professional responsibilityevery educational year.   

 

How can Experienced Attorneys in AZ fulfill their CLE Requirements? 

The State Bar of Arizona does not approve or accredit CLE programs and leaves it up to the individual attorney to determine if a CLE program is appropriate based on the MCLE guidelines. Some examples of CLE course formats include: 

  • Traditional live classroom CLE 
  • Live, in-house CLE seminars 
  • Self-Study (maximum 5 credits) 
  • Computer-based or Online CLE programs that do not allow for interactions between the presenter and the attendees  
  • Service on a Legislative Committee 
  • Service as an Arbitrator 
  • Pro Bono Service to the Poor 

 

How many credits can Experienced AZ Attorneys complete on CLE Companion? 

Attorneys can complete all 15 creditson CLE Companion through On Demand, and Live Stream programs. Our Arizona course catalog can be found here.  

 

Are there other ways Experienced Attorneys in AZ can earn CLE credit? 

Yes! Experienced Attorneys can receive CLE credit for: 

  • Speaking or teaching an accredited CLE program. If the CLE program taught is accompanied by original written materials, attorneys earn 6 CLE credits for the first hour of each original presentation and 2 CLE credits per each additional hour of presentation. If the program is not accompanied by original written materials, the speaker will earn 1 credit hour per each hour of presentation. One credit will be earned for each hour of any repeated live presentation. Attorneys can receive up to 10 hours of CLE credit through teaching. 
  • Teaching courses at an American Bar Association-accredited law school. Attorneys can receive up to 10 hours of CLE credit through teaching. 
  • Published legal research-based writing. Attorneys earn 2 credits for every 3,000 words of original material written. Attorneys are limited to 10 writing credits during any one reporting cycle. Credit may be earned where multiple authors share credit for the written material. 
  • Providing pro bono legal services. To qualify for CLE credit, this service must be performed through an approved legal services organization as defined by Arizona Supreme Court Rule 38(e). Attorneys may earn 1 CLE credit for every 5 hours of pro bono legal service performed. Attorneys are limited to 5 pro bono credits per year. 

 

What is the deadline for Experienced Attorneys in AZ to complete their CLE credits? 

Experienced Attorneys must complete their CLE requirement between July 1st – June 30th each year.  

 

Can Experienced Attorneys in AZ carry over CLE credits from one cycle to another? 

Yes! Experienced Attorneys can carry over up to fifteen (15) hours of AZ CLE credit per year, including up to three (3) in professional responsibility/legal ethics.  

ARIZONA CLE REQUIREMENTS – NEWLY ADMITTED ATTORNEYS 

Who is considered a Newly Admitted Attorney in AZ? 

Newly Admitted Attorneys are those who were first admitted during the current educational year.  

 

What are the CLE requirements for AZ Newly Admitted Attorneys? 

Attorneys admitted in Arizona between July and December of the educational year have a reduced requirement of 10 total CLE credits, 2 of which must be professional responsibility. Attorneys admitted in Arizona between January and June of the educational year have no MCLE requirement for that educational year. 

Arizona Newly Admitted Attorneys must also complete Arizona State Bar’s professionalism course within the first year of admission or registration. This is a one-time-only requirement of 4.25 CLE hours and is offered only in Phoenix and Tucson four to five times per year. It is recommended that attorneys register for it as soon as possible. Registration and other information about the professionalism course can be found on the State Bar of Arizona website here. 

Are there other ways Newly Admitted Attorneys in AZ can earn CLE credit? 

Yes! Newly Admitted Attorneys can receive CLE credit towards the total CLE requirement for: 

Note: The Arizona State Bar’s professionalism course cannot be substituted. 

  • Speaking or teaching an accredited CLE program. If the CLE program taught is accompanied by original written materials, attorneys earn 6 CLE credits for the first hour of each original presentation and 2 CLE credits per each additional hour of presentation. If the program is not accompanied by original written materials, the speaker will earn 1 credit hour per each hour of presentation. One credit will be earned for each hour of any repeated live presentation. Attorneys can receive up to 10 hours of CLE credit through teaching. 
  • Teaching courses at an American Bar Association-accredited law school. Attorneys can receive up to 10 hours of CLE credit through teaching. 
  • Published legal research-based writing. Attorneys earn 2 credits for every 3,000 words of original material written. Attorneys are limited to 10 writing credits during any one reporting cycle. Credit may be earned where multiple authors share credit for the written material. 
  • Providing pro bono legal services. To qualify for CLE credit, this service must be performed through an approved legal services organization as defined by Arizona Supreme Court Rule 38(e). Attorneys may earn 1 CLE credit for every 5 hours of pro bono legal service performed. Attorneys are limited to 5 pro bono credits per year. 

 

What is the deadline for Newly Admitted Attorneys in AZ to complete their CLE credits? 

Newly Admitted Attorneys must complete their CLE requirement by June 30th during the reporting cycle they are admitted. 

The Arizona State Bar’s professionalism course must be completed within 12 months of being admitted to the Bar. 

 

Can Newly Admitted Attorneys in AZ carry over CLE credits from one cycle to another? 

Yes! Newly Admitted Attorneys can carry over up to fifteen (15) hours of CLE credit per year, including up to three (3) in professional responsibility/legal ethics. 

ARIZONA CLE REQUIREMENTS – COMPLIANCE & REPORTING 

How do AZ attorneys certify compliance? 

Arizona attorneys must submit to the Arizona State Bar a signed MCLE affidavit for each educational year (July 1st to June 30th). Attorneys can complete their online affidavit on the State Bar of Arizona’s website.  

 

What is the deadline for AZ attorneys to certify compliance? 

The affidavit can be filed online beginning in mid-July and must be submitted to the AZ Bar no later than September 15th each year. 

ADDITIONAL CLE RESOURCES FOR ARIZONA ATTORNEYS 

State Bar Contact Info 

State Bar of Arizona  
4201 N. 24th Street, Suite 200 100  
Phoenix, AZ 85016-6288 6266  
602.340.7328  
mcle@staff.azbar.org  
http://www.azbar.org/ 

Arizona CLE FAQ Page 

Arizona CLE FAQ Page  

State Bar of Arizona MCLE Regulations 

http://www.azbar.org/cleandmcle/mcle/mcleregulations/ 

State Bar of Arizona MCLE Requirements and Deadlines 

http://www.azbar.org/cleandmcle/mcle/mclerequirementsanddeadlines/ 

Arizona Supreme Court Rule 45, Mandatory Continuing Legal Education 

Arizona Supreme Court Rule 45, Mandatory Continuing Legal Education 

Maricopa County Bar Association 

https://maricopabar.org/ 

Pima County Bar Association 

http://www.pimacountybar.org/